Real Americans vs. what… Un-Real Americans?

I personally love how politics is so happily intertwined with Scobleizer’s blog. It’s a risky thing to do because people will criticize your POV and that could impact your credibility in other, non-politicized subjects you undertake.

But another part of of me, the one that loves the political geekery of Scobleizer, wonders if the open minded perspective that runs through his brand of politics doesn’t also form the basis of his views on web apps, the open source movement, social networking, vast info sharing, and all the rest. I think it does.

So recently, I enjoyed his post where he borrows Dave Winer’s post on I am not an American. Dave lists all the ways that he is not an American, according to the extremely narrow-minded right wing definition of who is an American.

And in no small part did I enjoy this post because it joins in a growing chorus of the bigger US who do no fit in the narrow mold offered up by so-called real Americans–we are all growing so tired of this nonsense, at once dangerous and silly as only divisive rhetoric can be.

So let me add to the list:

I am educated, have advanced degrees, and am bi-lingual. I also like really good cappuccinos. I guess I am not an American.

I enjoy an open mind, even though sometimes it’s challenging, and really do want to learn new things from people who don’t think exactly like I do. I like diversity, I really do. Apparently I am not an American.

I am part of a network of people who think small changes to one’s carbon footprint really does make a difference, if only because we have to start somewhere and becoming conscious is a great place to start. I am not an American.

I am a lesbian, and have lived through calamitous times to fight for my rights. I have been subject to judgment and discrimination but still I know most people do not wish me harm. My friends, neighbors and family support my non-sanctioned relationship; after nearly 20 years together, I look forward to a legal marriage, even if it means going to another state to do it. I am totally not an American.

My government has helped me go to school and university, has set aside some of the most gorgeous areas on the planet for my own enjoyment, and has created and maintained highways and byways that I can travel–land, water and air–to go anywhere I want, has laid the foundation for a sense of safety and help in disasters, and has helped my city and state to make hundreds of changes that lead to a better environment. Proof, I am not an American.

I do not belong to an organized religion and admit that I wonder if organized religion will be the ruin of us all, but I do have a spiritual practice that involves buddhist meditation. There you have it, I am not an American.

I believe our government has saved our collective ass at key points in history and does best with more, not less, participation from each of us. I believe a democratic government can and should help us all be better global citizens. I am not an American.

I believe our public schools have been the envy of the world in the past, but are not now, and that the whole system is being undermined by the same fear-based forces that refuse to see themselves as part of a greater whole, part of a global community. I am not an American.

I believe we have an opportunity…no, a duty to lead the world in thinking about global climate change first, with greater technology and creativity, and the willingness to participate in change at a local, individual, state, national and global level. I am not an American.

Finally, I am very very proud to be part of that large group out there that doesn’t fit into the divisive, narrow confines of what the vocal unreal-american minority calls Real America.

2 responses to “Real Americans vs. what… Un-Real Americans?

  1. With the tag line “Country First” why would McCain, who put his life on the line for his country, choose a VP who is directly associated with a cessation group, the AIP? The answer is obvious, he needed to seal-the-deal with the party’s base.

    My very real fear now, if Obama wins, the Right will spawn in an unorganized fashion, domestic terrorist attacts. Are there ties between today’s NC polling booth aggressive McCain protesters and the journalist who is beaten to a breath from her life, who gave a cameo appearance in “W.”?

    The Palin choice has lost my vote.

    Hippiepublican

  2. Thanks Hippiepublican–The whole secessionist thing has been a question in my mind as well. Let’s hope that your fears re domestic terrorism don’t come to fruition, but the potential is so ironic, doncha think?

Leave a comment