The Love Rock

wordpress daily prompt: <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/retreat/”>Retreat</a&gt;

Here’s my working metaphor for the coming year: There’s a big boulder along the waterfront in Lincoln Park here in West Seattle. It’s north of the Colman pool and is referred to as the Love Rock because the word 20130918-113510.jpg is always, always spelled out with driftwood and shells, rusted metal and sometimes flowers in the summer.

Last week, I rode along the trail on my bike, glancing at the rock as I passed. Someone had brushed all the letters off and the pieces were scattered on the ground around the boulder. I kept riding and thought I would rebuild it on my return trip.

An hour later, I was looking forward to making things right, but I was too late–some good soul had already put things aright and Love triumphed once more. we’re in this together.

Never back down, never retreat.

Leave a comment