Running Past 50…and without injury ;-)

Ida Keeling, 95 yo–Fastest running nonagenarian: kick it sista!

So, I’ve got another birthday coming next week which will officially make me an old lady…sorta. It’s all in one’s mind, right?  I’m going surfing for my birthday, so I’m guessing my mind is unawares of the milestone before me.

I got to thinking the other day during a quick morning run that I’ve been running now for about six years, steadily. Some days more, some days less.  Some days hills, some days flat waterfront.  All days involve an attuned awareness that I ain’t no spring chick, and if I want to run again tomorrow, I need to pay attention to my path today.  I’ve got a weird chronic thing with my feet, it’s not fasciitis, and as bad as it gets, it’s always back to normal the next day, but that’s about all.  So, pushing a little, paying attention, pacing…it’s works for me.

I don’t know many runners who haven’t had injuries of one kind or another.  I know a lot of runners that have stopped running because of injuries.  So, on the eve of another milestone,  I just want put it out there: First, do no harm and Second, live to run another day.  Anyone else out there balancing runs with the goal of running injury-free same time next year?  I’m sort of tempting fate by even writing this, and if I do injure myself, it will be an interesting path to deal and heal, yes?

 

2 responses to “Running Past 50…and without injury ;-)

  1. Nice post! Seattle, WA is regarded as one of the country’s greenest cities. Eco Papyrus’s document scanning and paper management services allow businesses’ to contribute to this effort and realize the advantages of “going green” and to know more about this please visit http://www.ecopapyrus.com . Thanks

  2. Nice post! Wholesale Garden Plants at Tn Tree Nursery ! All orders over $200 gets $20 Off! Click here to get great savings ordering from a Tree Nursery Wholesaler! To know more please visit http://www.tnnursery.net/

Leave a Reply

