Days 269 thru 272: MLwC–it’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood!

Beach Drive Western Exposure

So, after many days of dreary gray skies and buckets of rain, today burst forth with brilliant sunlight, crisp blue skies and puffy clouds rolling across the horizon. I took a ride to Alki and to run my errands and stopped to take a snap of this view–too bright, actually, so I put my polarized sun glasses over the lens and got this result. Not bad for an iPhone camera and shades!

I’ll be driving my old car this coming holiday quite a little bit which will blow my stats for the quarter–they were already suffering compared to summer when the livin’ is easy. That’s just the way it is and will be around the holidays. I don’t mind though; I know I’ve radically changed my thinking and relationship to driving and cars and the whole dang mess. Driving now is for necessity and for special events–it’s just not an every day occurrence anymore and that, for me, is revolutionary.

Here’s wishing everyone a happy Thanksgiving (except for the turkeys–I wish them a luckier incarnation next time around ;-))–plenty of laughter, love and good food, veggie or otherwise!

 

Daily Stats: (Sat, Sun, Mon, Tue)

Car: 11 miles (2 peeps, 4 errands)
Bike: 10 miles (3 errands)
Ped: coupla miles
Bus: 0

3 responses to “Days 269 thru 272: MLwC–it’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood!

  1. I was walking through Lincoln Park on Sunday and caught sight of a pod of Dahl’s Porpoises http://www.bcadventure.com/adventure/wilderness/animals/dallporp.htm. What a kick to see these surfacing and diving. I’ve been walking on the Lincoln Park beach for 15 years, and this was the first time I’ve seen these. Was this the San Juan Islands? an Alaska cruise? No, simple walk through an amazing city park. That’s something to be thankful for!

  2. No! Really? That’s awesome! We live in such a beautiful place, we’re truly blessed! Thanks Susan!

  3. I like your measured approach, Cass. It is sustainable, and that’s what people need. Kind of like a steady diet. Crash diet of extreme green behavior can only be sustained by a small minority of ubergreenies.

    marguerite
    http://lamarguerite.wordpress.com
    ‘It’s All About Green Psychology’

Leave a Reply

