Day 210, 211 and 212: MLwC and the upside of assholes

Hmmm. I’m not sure about that title, but it’s late and I’m tired.

I read a post of mine from a while back, Day 49 and the upside of assholes or something, that was a scree about asshole managers. And you know what’s really weird? Just today I had another run-in with that very same manager, and had completely forgotten about my previous post. Some other readers have been viewing it and it showed up in my statistics so I checked it out.

Oh, what a balm to my soul to read it! I’ve only had a few encounters with this guy I worked with on a previous project and today was one of those encounters. What gives people the right to just lose their tempers about stuff that’s–sorry!–not worth losing one’s temper about. How come some people can just be counted on to make a scene, reach for the nearest throat, blame someone for something…even if the “blame” is probably a widely shared thing, including the asshole in question, for starters.

I work with a lot of people who are just trying to do a good job, and a lot of other people who are just trying to get through the day. For the most part, I have compassion for the second group and prefer the first group. Bottom line, though, we’re all mostly doing the best we can, and getting everyone riled up and freaked out just doesn’t help anything. AT ALL.

It was great to read that previous post. I should do that more often.

Daily Stats (Wed, Thur and Fri)
Car: 24 miles (5 tasks)
Bike: 5 miles
Ped: approx 5 miles
Bus: approx 15 miles

One response to “Day 210, 211 and 212: MLwC and the upside of assholes

  1. Pingback: Corporate culture and emotional IQ

Leave a Reply

