Day 114: MLwC, my car in a pinch and Paul Hawken

I had a situation on Monday wherein I learned to appreciate my car. Alas.

I’d scheduled a shared ride pickup with a local Shuttle service to the airport for 7 am. At 7am I was out front waiting patiently. 7:10. 7:15. By now I’m getting nervous because our house is a little hard to find and we’ve had problems before….

At 7:20 I estimated the time needed to get to the airport, check-in and out to the gate. I needed to leave now. So, guess what: I hopped in my car and drove out to the airport, double checking my decision all the way. Could I have asked a neighbor? They were all on their way to their own Monday morning schedules. How about a bus? I didn’t even know the schedule or the route. It’s funny: I used to drive to the airport and park a few days all the time and never gave it another thought, but things are different now and I’m just not used to driving as much. What a thought–I’m not used to driving! So, okay, I drove, I parked, I caught my plane. I was grateful I had a car in this instance–what can I say? It’s true.

Completely unrelated (or maybe not so…), a thought from Paul Hawken’s new book, Blessed Unrest, related to our growing connectivity–on the web and otherwise:

“This movement is a new form of community and a new form of story. At what point in the future will the existence of 2 million, 3 million or even 5 million citizen-led organizations shift our awaremness to the possibility that we will have fundamentally change the way human being govern and organize themseleves on earth. What are the characteristics of leadership required when power arises instead of descends? What would a democracy look like that was not ruled by a dominant minority?

“…What if some very basic values are being reinstilled worldwide and are fostering complex social webs of meaning that represent the future of governance?”

Hawken’s thoughts on the growing movement of social webs of awareness are hopeful. And I have to believe he’s right. We are connected in new and amazing ways, and stories are being shared at a mind-boggling pace–we are creating new, shared vocabularies and priorities…and not waiting for a stamp of approval. Badges? We don’t need no stinkin badges. We will find a new way that works.

Daily stats: (Tuesday)
Car: 0
bike: 0
Bus: 0
air: 0

3 responses to “Day 114: MLwC, my car in a pinch and Paul Hawken

  1. What a great quote by Paul Hawken. We need his kind of hopeful and imaginative thinking. It’s interesting to think of the current crop of youngin’s coming into a life where being connected and sharing stories through the wealth of media available to them is a natural extension of their identities — their way of being in the world. The notion of top down authority will make less and less sense, just as the idea of “tv” or “popular music” being a one-way communication channel controlled by corporate interests will make less and less sense.

  2. In addition to Blessed Unrest, Paul’s nonprofit has also created WiserEarth (www.wiserearth.org) as a platform to serve the subset of civil society devoted to social justice and environmental restoration. The platform has been designed to be flexible and transparent enough so it can develop features to improve the connectivity of this unnamed movement. Paul talks at length in Blessed Unrest that the success of the immune system depends on the number and quality of connections. In essence, WiserEarth is about improve the number and quality of connections for this movement.

  3. Wonderful, thanks for sending this information, Michael. I’m on the site now and will be exploring.

Leave a Reply

