Day 90: My Life w Car…the 90 Day Round-up!

The truly big news today is that this is Day 90 of my ongoing project to see if I can wean myself from a car in the space of a year. Mostly, I’ve been interested in just becoming more conscious of

  • How I use transportation
  • How I use my car specifically

So, here’s the lowdown: when I first started this, I thought of using my car every single day. There wasn’t a day that I didn’t have to struggle at least a little to think around the use of the car.

I can very happily say that somewhere along the line, not sure where, that all changed. Now it feels like a drag to use my car. Gas, parking, traffic–you name it, it’s just not pleasant.

traffic jam

Next big news: I paid some bucks to have my bike fit me and tuned properly and it made all the difference in the world. I don’t think twice about using my bike now, and I’m more fit, happier and more connected to my sweet West Seattle. I look forward to running an errand most days–it’s a great break from my work, and a chance to get ouside.

bianchi bike

Next really big news: The Bus. The first day I took the bus, I hated it. It was around Day 60 and I only did it because it was part of this experiment and I needed to learn about it. Well, guess what. Now I love it–I bought a pass to make the whole change thing easier, it takes me right downtown in 15 minutes and I get to catch up on reading or ipodding or whatever. And once downtown, I get a nice walk to whatever meeting I’ve got set up. Sweet deal–return trip within a couple of hours and the whole thing costs $1.25. Look, I’m not poor, that’s not the issue. But suddenly I begin to see that the money I’m spending on gas, parking, insurance, upkeep, etc could be going to something I enjoy a whole lot more…with very little trouble. Just a matter of changing habits. Which they say takes about 90 days.
seattle071.jpg

90 Day Round-up!!!

Overall stats:
Car: 535 miles, approx 85% multi-task, multi-occupant
Bike: 176.30 miles, increasing daily mileage from Day 1 to Day 90 (by a lot!)
Hybrid-electro Bus: 60 miles (didn’t utilize the bus until around day 60)
Flexcar: 9 miles (didn’t hold quite the attraction I thought it would…)
Plane: 6,018 (that’s where my carbon footprint turns into carbon karma that I try to work off)

Day 90 stats (that’s today):
Car: zip
Bike: 5 miles
Bus: zip
planes, trains, flexcars: zip

6 responses to “Day 90: My Life w Car…the 90 Day Round-up!

  1. Fantastic ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m a non car user myself… (driving license 15 years now and total time driving about 2 hours ๐Ÿ™‚ ) I am, however, guilty of being a passenger from time to time. I have convinced my wife that going carless is liberating and she is beginning to agree.
    Again… congratulations on a great idea and your persistence ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. The best and old way to move is walking.I go every day to my office walking ,about 2 kilometers.In Chile the fuel is very expensive ,1.5 US per one litre.

  3. Pingback: Day 92 & 93: MLWC plus Command-and-Control Knowledge « What it’s like

  4. Pingback: Day 119 thru 121: MLwC and WiserEarth.com « What it’s like

  5. Pingback: Day 180-182: MLwC, the Half-Way Point Data Extravahhh-ganza! « What it’s like

  6. Pingback: NYC! Greenest major city on the Planet? | nybikejumble.com

Leave a Reply

