Day 34: My Life w Car

Back from my Big Cruise Adventure–my Mom’s 80th birthday cruise to the Sea of Cortez on the Holland American line.

Review: I truly believe that cruise lines are floating food courts and should be named thus. I have never really experienced that level of passive consumerism and it didn’t sit well with me. That said, the whole thing was really for my mom and I managed to shut my mouth and play nice for the most part.

The good news: when my partner and I were off the ship, we managed to see and experience some pretty nice sites. We were introduced–albeit quickly–to a few great spots in the Sea of Cortez of Baja California. We’ll be back there soon to continue our snorkeling and kayak love affair.

I had to stop reading The Weather Makers while on this trip as it was just too depressing to be part of what seemed the epicenter of our consumption crazed culture (probably wasn’t, just seemed like it).

The very, very good news is that there seems to be a huge environmental movement in Mexico. The guy in the snap above is part of a program to save and reintroduce the native macaw population of Mexico–he talked to tourists about not buying parrots from vendors–even in the US, etc.

In Loreto, we went to a gorgeous preserve area off the coast and snorkeled around. Supposedly, there is no big development allowed in Loreto but you can see they’re going to lose that fight. I saw advertisements for retirement communities and the number of real estate offices was truly surprising. Beautiful town–hope they can hang onto it.

The Sea of Cortez was truly spectacular and I hope it doesn’t become too terribly “consumed” by tourists such as myself. Worse are the number of communities, condos, etc that are sprouting up everywhere.

Being on that ship for 10 days really brought home overpopulation. How come overpopulation isn’t a big topic? We have 6 billion people on this planet–we outstripped our resources in 1987 and have been robbing the piggy bank ever since and still, we keep reproducing. I recall that Bill Gates mentioned, upon receiving the monster grant of billions from Buffet, that he would continue to use it to wipe out disease. Asked why he didn’t tackle overpopulation, he answered that overpopulation takes care of itself when communities are healthy and infant death diminishes. Maybe that’s true, maybe so. But I’m skeptical.

Anyway, very glad to be home.

Stats:

Ship: I don’t know how many nautical miles or how many tons of food.
Bike: 8.5 miles/1 task
Car: 0
Flexcar: 0
Bus: 0

Leave a Reply

